What happens when multiple users edit the same note?

What happens when multiple users edit the same note?
< Previous / Next >

What happens when multiple users edit the same note?

Evernote detects when multiple users are editing or updating a note at the same time. Once a user clicks inside a note and starts editing, other users can only view the note, but are prevented from editing it.

Note: This feature is currently available on Evernote for Windows Desktop; Evernote for Mac; Evernote for Android; Evernote for iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch; and Evernote Web

Note lock notification

Notification that someone else is editing a note (Windows)

A notification appears near the top of the note to let users know when a note is being edited by someone else. Once this notification disappears, the note is no longer locked and is available for others to edit.

Edit anyway

Note: This feature is currently available on Evernote for Mac and Windows Desktop

If the option is available, and you choose to select “Edit anyway,” Evernote creates a duplicate note with any edits made. This duplicate note is automatically saved to a notebook named “Conflicting Changes...” along with a unique timestamp. Users are responsible for determining which changes they would like to keep or discard.

More about how to share notes

LANGUAGES_SUPPORT

Keywords:

  • conflicting changes
  • edit anyway
  • edit the same note
  • note is in use
  • note lock
  • note locking
  • working on this note