How to manage business content in the admin console
The Evernote Business account admin is authorized to manage all business content using the admin console. This includes: spaces, notebooks, notes, tags, and trash.
The 'Spaces' page displays a list of all of the spaces in the business. You can manage spaces from here, which includes the ability to join any space, manage space members and permissions, and change the visibility of spaces in the Space Directory.
There are 5 different visibility settings for Spaces, as outlined below.
- Not listed in Space Directory: No one in the business can see this space unless a current member sends an invitation.
- Listed and others must request access: Anyone in the business can see this space in the Space Directory but they must request permission to view its content.
- Listed and others can view: Anyone in the business can see this space in the Space Directory. They may join it and view its content.
- Listed and others can edit: Anyone in the business can see this space in the Space Directory. They may join it and view/edit its content.
- Listed and others can edit and invite: Anyone in the business can see this space in the Space Directory. They may join it, view/edit its content, and change permissions for others to access.
The 'Notebooks' page is where you can manage all of the business notebooks in the account. This includes the ability to export the contents of any business notebook, delete any business notebook, or share any business notebook with someone else (for example, if a different employee takes over a project).
The 'Notebooks' page displays the following information about each business notebook:
- Notebook Name: The name of the business notebook.
- Contact: The contact person that will be shown on the business notebook when it is shared with the entire company. Changing the contact person will not affect the user permission level of the user that originally created the business notebook.
- Members: The number of people that have joined the business notebook, which includes both users that have joined the business notebook from business home, and users that have joined the business notebooks after being invited individually.
- Sharing Status: The current sharing status of the business notebook, whether it's shared at all, with individual people, or published to the business home
- Type: In Evernote Business accounts created on or after September 15, 2017, each user's account notebook is marked as such in the admin console. The only action that can be taken on an account notebook is to export it. Learn more >>
There are 3 different sharing permissions, as outlined below:
- Can view: A user can join the notebook and view its content.
- Can edit: A user can join the notebook and view/edit its content.
- Can edit and invite: A user can join the notebook, view/edit its content, and invite and manage permissions for others to access.
The 'Notes' page is where you can manage the permissions for all of the business notes that have been shared with others.
The 'Tags' page is where you can rename or delete tags that have been assigned to notes in your business. Select the checkbox next to a tag, then choose an action from the dropdown menu at the top of the list.
The 'Trash' page allows you to restore individual business notes, or empty them from the trash entirely.
- Restore notes: To restore a previously deleted business note, select a note and click Restore.
- Delete notes: To delete a single note from the trash, select the note and click Delete. To delete all the notes in the business trash, click the Empty Trash button found at the top of the business trash list. There is no way to restore notes once they have been deleted from the business trash.
Note: A user will see any changes an account admin makes the next time the user syncs his or her account.
- admin console
- business notebooks
- change contacts
- manage business notebooks
- manage spaces
- managing notebook sharing
- business tags
- manage business tags
- business trash