FAQ for Evernote Teams users
TOPICS COVERED IN THIS ARTICLE:
- General Questions
- Joining an Evernote Teams account
- Leaving an Evernote Teams account
- Working with spaces, notes, and notebooks
What are spaces?
Spaces are an efficient way to organize your team’s information. You can create a space for a project, team, or topic; fill it with notes and notebooks; and share it with your team. Everyone on the team can see what has been shared with them in a space, locate the information they need, and collaborate easily to get the job done.
What are team notebooks?
Evernote Teams allows users to create and have access to team notebooks. They look and act just like regular Evernote notebooks, and have extra sharing options specifically for the team. Members of Evernote Teams can create team notebooks and all of the notes within them become part of the team account.
Can everyone in the team see all team content?
Users in the team account can only see what's been explicitly shared with them, either directly or via a space, and what's been published to the team account (if any). New spaces and notebooks are private to the notebook creator by default, but can be shared with team members. You can share notes and notebooks to individuals or put them in a space and list them in the account Directory for the entire team to browse. Account admins can view and manage all spaces, notebooks, and notes regardless of their share permissions, using the admin console.
What happens when I remove a note from a team notebook?
When you remove a note from a team notebook, either by deleting the note or moving it from a team notebook to a notebook in an individual account (Evernote Teams accounts created before September 15, 2017 only), the original note is moved to the team’s trash. The trash in a team account is similar to the trash in an individual account, but only an account admin can empty the team’s trash from the admin console. If you accidentally delete a note or change your mind, you can easily restore it by opening the trash and clicking the restore button.
What happens when I delete a team notebook?
Deleting a team notebook works similarly to deleting notes. All the individual notes from the team notebook are put into the team’s trash. To restore a note or a selection of notes, simply open the trash, select the note(s) (or Shift+click to select multiple) you'd like to restore, and select Restore Selected Notes. Only an account admin can empty the team’s trash using the admin console.
What is the account Directory?
The Directory is where shared spaces and notebooks are listed for the entire team to browse. Users can view and join spaces and notebooks as needed. Some examples of what might be shared with a team include: benefits information, educational material, or information related to projects that multiple people are interested in following. Learn more >>
Joining an Evernote Teams account
Can I keep my existing Evernote account or do I need to create a new one?
For Evernote Teams accounts that have been updated: If you have an existing Evernote account, you should continue to use it for your own individual notes. When you join the team, you will create a second, separate team account to use for team notes.
For Evernote Teams accounts that have not been updated: If you have an existing Evernote account, we recommend that they use it to join the team account. All of your individual notes and notebooks will remain separate from your team notes and notebooks. No one, not even the account admin, will have access to or control over any of your own individual notes and notebooks, and you keep them even if you leave the team.
How do I join an Evernote Teams account?
For detailed instructions on how to join your team's Evernote account, see here.
When I tried to join, I received a message that the maximum number of seats has been reached. What should I do next?
If the maximum number of seats for your team’s Evernote account has been reached, we will automatically notify the account admin that you attempted to join. The account admin will contact you directly once the user limit has been increased.
What changes will I see when I join an Evernote Teams account?
The Evernote app will stay the same, but you'll notice a few differences:
- You'll have the ability to create spaces
- You'll be able to access the account Directory
- You'll have updated account limits
Does anything happen to my individual notes and notebooks when I join an Evernote Teams account?
Absolutely nothing about your individual notes or individual notebooks will change when you join your team's Evernote account.
What happens if I'm already paying for Evernote Premium or Personal and join an Evernote Teams account?
For Evernote Business accounts created before September 15, 2017:
If you've purchased a paid subscription from us and have more than a month of service left, we’re happy to offer a pro-rated refund. If this is the case, please Contact us.
For Evernote Teams accounts created on or after September 15, 2017:
You will create a new, separate Evernote Teams account when you join your team. You may choose to keep your separate, individual Evernote subscription or you may cancel it. Either way, when you join your team's Evernote account, your account admin will be able to send you a code redeemable for 1 year of Evernote Personal from the admin console.
Leaving an Evernote Teams account
How do I leave an Evernote Teams account that I have joined?
Evernote Teams account admins can remove you from the account using the 'Manage Users' page in the admin console. Before going through the steps to leave a Teams account, keep in the mind that you will immediately lose access to any team notebooks you have created, as well as to all of the notebooks in the team account.
What happens to my notes and notebooks if I leave an Evernote Teams account or my access is revoked?
If you leave the team account, or if your access is revoked by an account admin, you will immediately lose access to team notes and notebooks, since all team content remains within the Evernote Teams account.
Working with spaces, notes, and notebooks
How are spaces different than notebooks?
Notebooks let you organize and share a single set of content. Spaces are a more powerful method for organizing and collaborating with your team around a project or multiple sets of content, which may span multiple notebooks.
- A space can contain both notebooks and individual notes, allowing you to better organize large amounts of content
- A space helps keep track of what your team is working on by highlighting what’s new and pinned notes
How are spaces different than stacks?
Stacks are for you to create a personalized organization of your notebooks, whereas spaces are for your team to organize in the same consistent way, so you can stay on one page and find shared content easily.
No one else can see your stacks, you can’t share them, and different users can put their notebooks in different stacks. Spaces are seen by all of your invited team members, and notes and notebooks can only belong in a single space. You can easily share all of the space’s contents by adding a team member to the space. Contrary to stacks, spaces can also contain individual notes.
Does everyone in a space automatically have permissions for every notebook within that space?
Yes. Members of a space will receive the same permissions of all the contents in the space. In cases where an individual was granted greater permissions than the overall space’s permissions, they will retain the greater permissions on those items.
Can you be part of a space without joining all the notebooks within it?
Can a note or notebook be in more than one space?
Can I share spaces, notes, or notebooks with people outside of the team?
Notes and notebooks (with the exception of account notebooks) can be shared with people outside of the team. However, spaces cannot be shared with people outside of the team.
- evernote business
- getting started
- business notebooks