FAQ for Evernote Business users

FAQ for Evernote Business users

FAQ for Evernote Business users

TOPICS COVERED IN THIS ARTICLE:

  • General Questions
  • Joining your company's Evernote Business account
  • Leaving your company's Evernote Business account
  • Working with business notebooks
 

General Questions

What are business notebooks?

Evernote Business allows users to create and have access to business notebooks. They look and feel just like regular Evernote notebooks, but are located in a separate section and have extra sharing options specifically for the business. Evernote Business users can create business notebooks and all of the notes within them become part of the company's Evernote Business account.

Can everyone in the business see all business notebooks?

Users in the business can only see what's been explicitly shared with them and what's been published to the business home. New business notebooks are private to the notebook creator by default, but can be shared with others inside and outside of the business. You can share business notebooks to individuals or publish them to the entire company. Account admins can view and manage all business notebooks, regardless of their share permissions, using the admin console.

What happens when I remove a business note from a business notebook?

When you remove a business note from a business notebook, either by deleting the note or moving it out of a business notebook into a personal notebook, the original business note is moved to the business trash notebook. The business trash is similar to the trash notebook for your personal notebooks but only an account admin can empty the business trash from the admin console. If you accidentally delete a business note or change your mind, you can easily restore it by opening the business trash and clicking the restore button.

What happens when I delete a business notebook?

Deleting a business notebook works similarly to deleting business notes. All the individual notes from the business notebook are put into the business trash and can be restored or deleted by the account admin. To restore a note or a selection of notes, simply open the business trash notebook, select the note(s) (or Shift+click to select multiple) you'd like to restore, and select Restore Selected Notes. As with individual business notes, only an account admin can empty a business notebook from the business trash using the admin console.

What is the business home?

The business home is where notebooks published to the entire business can be found. Users can view and join published business notebooks as needed. Some examples of what might be shared with a business include: benefits information, educational material, or information related to projects that multiple people are interested in following. Any member of the business can publish a business notebook to the business home, as well as remove any business notebook they have published. The business home is accessible in Evernote for Mac, Evernote for Windows, Evernote Web, and on some mobile devices.

Joining your company's Evernote Business account

Can I keep my existing Evernote account or do I need to create a new one?

If you have an existing Evernote account, we strongly recommend that you use it to join your company's Evernote Business account. All of your personal notes and notebooks will remain separate from your business notes and notebooks. No one, not even the account admin, will have access to or control over any of your personal notes and notebooks, and you keep them even if you leave the business. Using your existing Evernote account is also more convenient, as you will not need to manually switch between two separate accounts.

How do I join my company's Evernote Business account?

For detailed instructions on how to join your company's Evernote Business account, see here.

When I tried to join, I received a message that the maximum number of seats has been reached. What should I do next?

If the maximum number of seats for your company's Evernote Business account has been reached, we will automatically notify the company's account admin that you attempted to join. The account admin will contact you directly once the user limit has been increased.

What changes will I see when I join my company's Evernote Business account?

The Evernote app will stay the same, but you'll notice a few differences:

  • You'll have the ability to create business notebooks
  • You'll be able to access the business home
  • You'll have updated account limits

Does anything happen to my personal notes and personal notebooks when I join my company's Evernote Business account?

Absolutely nothing about your personal notes or personal notebooks will change when you join your company's Evernote Business account. All of your personal data will remain private and accessible in the same way it has always been.

What happens if I'm already paying for Evernote Premium and join an Evernote Business Account?

If you've purchased a 1 year paid subscription from us (Evernote Plus or Evernote Premium) and have more than a month of personal service left, we'll send you a code that you can save and use to upgrade yourself back to that subscription should you ever leave the business. You can also pass the code along to a family member, friend, or colleague.

Leaving your company's Evernote Business account

How do I leave an Evernote Business account that I have joined?

Evernote Business account admins can remove you from the business using the 'Manage Users' tab in the admin console. Before going through the steps to leave an Evernote Business account, keep in the mind that you will immediately lose access to any business notebooks you have created, as well as the company's business home and all of the business notebooks in it.

What happens to my notes and notebooks if I leave my company's Evernote Business account or my access is revoked?

If you leave your company's Evernote Business account, or if your access is revoked by your company's account admin, you will immediately lose access to any business notebooks you have created, as well as the company's business home and all of the business notebooks in it. Your Evernote account will also be automatically changed from Evernote Business to Evernote Basic. All of your personal notes and personal notebooks will be completely unaffected.

Working with business notebooks

How do I tell the difference between business notebooks and personal notebooks?

Business notebooks and personal notebooks will be listed in separate sections in the sidebar and notebooks panel within the app, though it may vary depending on the custom view you've set up. In Evernote for Mac card view, business notebooks are blue and personal notebooks are white.

Can I share business notes and business notebooks with people outside of the company?

Yes. Business notes and business notebooks can be shared in all the same ways as personal notes and personal notebooks. For detailed instruction on how to share business notebooks, visit these knowledge base articles on sharing notes and sharing notebooks.

LANGUAGES_SUPPORT

Keywords:

  • evernote business
  • faq
  • getting started
Playing video %{current} of %{total}
Video %{current} of %{total}