Revoke access to a shared note

If you decide to stop sharing a note or a public (URL) link to a note, simply open the note, then perform the following steps:

  • Mac

    1. Select the shared note.
    2. Click the Share button.
    3. Click on the user's permissions you'd like to edit 
    4. Select Remove access.
  • Windows

    1. Select the shared note.
    2. Click the Share button.
    3. Click on the user's permissions you'd like to edit 
    4. Select Remove access.
  • iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch

    1. Tap the Share button (silhouette with plus sign).
    2. Tap the toggle button next to Shareable link to disable the link. From here you can also change permissions for each person. 
    3. To revoke access to a specific user, click on the user's permissions you'd like to edit and select Remove access.
  • Android

    1. Tap the Share button (silhouette with plus sign).
    2. Tap the toggle button next to Shareable link to disable the link. From here you can also change permissions for each person. 
    3. To revoke access to a specific user, click on the user's permissions you'd like to edit and select Remove access.
  • Web

    1. Select the shared note.
    2. Click the Share button.
    3. Click on the user's permissions you'd like to edit 
    4. Select Remove access.

Once you've revoked all access to your note, the note becomes private again, and all current links to that note will no longer work.

Updated

Was this article helpful?

40 out of 204 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request