Revoke access to a shared note

Revoke access to a shared note
< Previous / Next >

Revoke access to a shared note

If you decide to stop sharing a note or a public (URL) link to a note, simply open the note, then perform the following steps:

 

  • Mac

    The new Evernote for Mac:

    1. Select the shared note.
    2. Click the green Share button.
    3. Click Stop Sharing to stop sharing with everyone.
    4. Or click the arrow next to Who has access and change permission or remove access for individual users.


    Older version of Evernote for Mac:

    1. Select Note > More Sharing > Stop Sharing Public Link from the menu bar to disable the link.
    2. Or select Note > More Sharing > Manage Note Permissions... from the menu bar, then click X next to the name(s) of whom you'd like to stop sharing the note with.
  • Windows

    The new Evernote for Windows:

    1. Select the shared note.
    2. Click the green Share button.
    3. Click Stop Sharing to stop sharing with everyone.
    4. Or click the arrow next to Who has access and change permission or remove access for individual users.


    Older version of Evernote for Windows:

    1. Select Note > Share > Share Note... from the menu bar, then click 'Turn off' in the  'Shareable link' section to disable the link.
    2. Or select Note > Share > Share Note... from the menu bar, then click the small downward arrow next to the name(s) of whom you'd like to stop sharing the note with, and select Remove access....
  • iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch

    The new Evernote for iOS:

    1. Tap the Share button (silhouette with plus sign).
    2. Tap the toggle button next to Shareable link to disable the link. From here you can also change permissions for each person.

    Older version of Evernote for iOS:

    1. Tap the share button (box with upward arrow), then tap Stop sharing.
    2. Tap the info button (letter 'i'), tap Note Permissions, then tap Stop sharing with all. From here you can also change permissions for each person.
  • Android

    • Tap the options button (three dots), then tap More Sharing > Disable Link.
    • Tap the options button (three dots), select Note permissions, tap the name of the person you're sharing with, then adjust the permissions.
  • Web

    The new Evernote Web:

    1. Select the shared note.
    2. Click the green Share button.
    3. Click Stop Sharing to stop sharing with everyone.
    4. Or click the arrow next to Who has access and change permission or remove access for individual users.


    Older version of Evernote Web:

    1. Select the shared note.
    2. Click the downward arrow on the Share button.
    3. Select Link > Stop sharing note to stop sharing via public link.

 

Once you've revoked all access to your note, the note becomes private again, and all current links to that note will no longer work.

LANGUAGES_PRODUCT