How to delete notes and manage your Trash

How to delete notes and manage your Trash

How to delete notes and manage your Trash

TOPICS COVERED IN THIS ARTICLE:

  • Delete notes
  • Delete notebooks
  • Manage the Trash
  • Manage the Evernote Business Trash

Delete notes

When you delete a note, it’s moved to the Trash. The Trash is synced across your devices like all of your other synced content. However, when you delete a note from a local notebook, that note will not become synced.

  • Mac and Windows

    1. Right-click the note you'd like to delete
    2. Select Delete Note from the options list
  • iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch

    1. Open the note you'd like to delete
    2. Tap the options button (three dots), then select Move to Trash
  • Android

    1. Open the note you'd like to delete
    2. Tap the options button (three dots), then select Delete note
  • Evernote Web

    1. Open the note you'd like to delete
    2. Click the 'Delete note' button (trash can)

Delete notebooks

When you delete a notebook, all of the notes in it are moved to the Trash and the empty notebook is removed from your account.

  • Mac and Windows

    1. Right-click the notebook you'd like to delete
    2. Select Delete Notebook... from the options list
  • iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch

    1. Open the notebook you'd like to delete
    2. Tap the options button (three dots), then select Notebook Settings > Delete Notebook
  • Android

    1. From the notebook list, press and hold the notebook you'd like to delete
    2. Select Delete
  • Evernote Web

    1. Open the notebook you'd like to delete
    2. Click the info button (letter 'i') in the notebook header at the top of the notebook list
    3. Click Delete notebook

Manage the Trash

The Trash is synced across your devices and is found at the bottom of your notebooks list.

Restore notes

To restore notes from the Trash, select the note(s) you want to restore, then click the Restore, Restore Note or Restore Selected Notes button, depending on your device.

Empty notes from the Trash

Any content you empty from the Trash will be removed from your account and is unrecoverable. On Mac and Windows, right-click on Trash and select Empty Trash to remove all of your deleted notes. To remove individual notes, select one or more notes and select Erase note or Erase Selected Notes. When you empty the trash or erase notes, they will be removed from all devices next time you sync Evernote on that device.

Once notes are emptied from your trash, the content is no longer recoverable (even by Evernote Support). Be careful to only delete notes you’re absolutely sure you won't ever need again.

Manage the Evernote Business Trash

Evernote Business customers have two trashes: a personal trash and a business trash. The business trash contains notes you've deleted from your own business notebooks, as well as notes deleted notes from business notebooks you are joined to. You can restore notes from the business trash, but only an account admin can empty notes from the business trash.

Manage Trash menu

Restore business notes

To restore business notes from the business trash to the business notebooks they were deleted from:

  1. Click Trash in the navigation bar of the admin console.
  2. Check the box to the left of the business notes you want to restore.
  3. Click the Restore button. A confirmation dialog will be displayed.

All of the selected business notes will be moved back to the business notebooks they were deleted from. The restored business notes will not be restored in a user's Evernote client until they sync their account.

Delete notes or empty your company's Trash

Evernote Business account admins may select specific notes to be emptied from the business trash, or they may empty the entire trash. There is no way to restore notes once they have been removed.

To empty the business trash:

  1. Click Trash in the navigation bar of the admin console.
  2. Check the box to the left of the business notes you want to remove.
  3. Click the Delete button. A confirmation dialog will be displayed.

To delete all of the business notes in the business trash, click the Empty Trash button.

All of the selected business notes will be emptied. The deleted business notes will be removed from users' Evernote clients the next time the user syncs their account.

More about the admin console

LANGUAGES_SUPPORT

Keywords:

  • delete a note
  • delete notes
  • deleting a note
  • deleting notes
  • permanently delete
  • trash
Playing video %{current} of %{total}
Video %{current} of %{total}