How to use Work Chat to share and collaborate

How to use Work Chat to share and collaborate

How to use Work Chat to share and collaborate

Work Chat allows you to quickly and easily collaborate and share Evernote notes and notebooks. Work Chat is not another chat client and wasn't designed to replace other chat apps. Use Work Chat to send messages, notes, or notebooks to anyone, whether the recipients use Evernote or not. Share a note or notebook in a chat with others in order to exchange ideas and solicit feedback about what you've shared.

Share an individual note

Screenshot of shared note in Work Chat on iOS

If you're viewing a note and want to share it, just click the Share button to pop-up a Work Chat window. Type the email addresses of all the people you want to share with in the Work Chat address field, set permissions to control who and how people view and interact with your note, and click 'Send' to share! 

To share an individual note in Work Chat, follow these steps:

  1. Select a note from the note list.
  2. Click Share (Mac and Windows), or tap the Share button (box with upward arrow - iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch; three connected dots - Android).
    Note: In desktop clients, you can drag and drop notes directly from the note list into a chat. With both your note list and chat window open, drag and drop a note anywhere on the chat window. Select the expand arrow beside the 'Share' button to view other note sharing options.
  3. Set the permission level to 'Can edit and invite', 'Can edit', or 'Can view'.
  4. Make sure there's at least one recipient, type a message, then click or tap Send.

Set permission levels

Screenshot of Work Chat permission levels

With Work Chat, you can share individual notes and set permission levels with participants in a chat:

  • Can edit and invite (default)
  • Can edit
  • Can view

If a note you’ve shared with someone, in Work Chat, belongs to a notebook that you’ve already shared with them, they will retain any edit and invite notebook permissions you’ve already granted to them.

Do recipients of my shared notes and notebooks need to download Evernote?

Probably the biggest misconception about Work Chat is that you have to worry about whether or not the people you're sharing with have Evernote or not. Once you share a note or notebook with someone, they will get an email with a link to see the note in a web browser. Like Google Docs or other collaboration tools, they'll need to sign in or create an Evernote account before seeing the note so we can enforce your sharing permissions. But the recipients don't have to download Evernote or even use Evernote ever again. If they are already an Evernote user, they'll just see your Work Chat in their Evernote app.

See who's viewing or editing a shared note

If you've shared a note with others (or others have a shared a note with you), you'll be able to see who else is viewing (or currently editing) that note at any given moment. Names and profile pictures (avatars) of individuals who are viewing or editing notes appear at the top of the note editor.

Send a Work Chat message

To create a new chat, find and select the Work Chat button on your computer or mobile device:

  • Mac and Windows

    Click the New Chat button on the Evernote toolbar.

  • iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch

    Open a note, tap the share button (box with upward arrow), then tap Work Chat.

  • Android

    Select Work Chat from the navigation menu, then tap the blue plus button (+).

  • Web

    Select Work Chat from the navigation menu, then click New Chat.

Invite people to chat

Screenshot of adding Work Chat recipients

You can add multiple participants to a chat. Because Work Chats are private to you and participants of a chat, once you've started a chat, only the participants can view the chats. If you decide to add a new participant, a new chat is created. To invite people to a new chat, just enter their names by typing them in or by selecting from a suggested list of colleagues. 

You can also chat with people in your personal contact lists:

  • Past Evernote contacts whom you’ve chatted with or have shared notes with
  • Colleagues from your company's Evernote Business account (Evernote Business only)
  • Contacts from your computer or device address book (available on Windows, Mac, Android, and iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch)
  • Gmail contacts (available on Windows, Web, Android, and iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch)
  • Outlook contacts  (Windows only) 

You can also chat with people from your personal contact lists:

  • Past Evernote contacts whom you’ve chatted with or have shared notes with in the past
  • Colleagues from your company's Evernote Business account (Evernote Business only)
  • Contacts from your computer or device address book (available on Windows, Mac, Android, and iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch)
  • Imported Outlook contacts  (Windows only) 

Note: In order to display a list of recipients and their profile pictures from any of your contacts lists in Evernote, you'll need to grant Evernote authorization to access these lists. These contacts are not stored on Evernote servers.

Note: In order to display a list of recipients and their profile pictures from any of your contacts lists in Evernote, you'll need to grant Evernote authorization to access to them. These contacts are not stored on Evernote servers.

Work Chat invitations and notifications

Screenshot of Work Chat notification in Evernote Web

Once you've invited someone to a chat, they'll see a pop-up and Work Chat badge on their computer or device to notify them. If your recipients don't have an Evernote account, they'll receive an email or SMS message* notifying them that they’ve received a Work Chat message from you. They can then choose to sign up or log in to Evernote in order to view the shared notebook and chat with you.

You don't have to worry about whether or not a phone number or email address is tied to a chat recipient's account. If someone already has an existing Evernote account, and you send a message to a phone number or email not tied to that account, they can add those new contact details to their existing account and then view your message.

*Note: SMS invitation feature is not available in all countries.

Accepting an invitation

Once a recipient accepts an invitation to a chat, they'll see notifications pop-up on their screen each time a new chat message is sent. These notifications display the sender's name, along with the first few words or lines of the message. How these notifications appear and how long they appear on the screen will vary, depending on which Evernote product you're using. 

View or continue previous chats

Select Work Chat from the navigation menu to view a list of previous Work Chats you've participated in. Find an existing chat and add a new message to it. You can delete a chat, but bear in mind that once you've deleted it, you'll no longer have access to the note, nor any references it may have to shared notes.

Note: Any Work Chats you delete are only deleted from your own account. The chat will remain visible to the other chat participants.

LANGUAGES_SUPPORT LANGUAGES_INCLUDE=it,tr

Keywords:

  • share notes
  • share notebooks
  • chat
  • edit and invite
  • permission
  • send a chat
  • send a message
  • share a note
  • sharing notes
  • view and edit
Playing video %{current} of %{total}
Video %{current} of %{total}