Use Work Chat

Use Work Chat
< Previous / Next >

Use Work Chat

Work Chat allows you to quickly and easily message other Evernote users and collaborate on shared notes and notebooks. Work Chat was not designed to replace other chat apps.

Send a Work Chat message

To send a message using Work Chat, follow the steps for your operating system below.

  • Mac

    The new Evernote for Mac

    1. Click Work Chat from the navigation menu.
    2. Click the New Chat button (pencil in a square).

    Older version of Evernote for Mac

    1. Click Work Chat from the navigation menu.
    2. Click the + New Chat button at the top of your list of messages.
  • Windows

    The new Evernote for Windows

    1. Click Work Chat from the navigation menu.
    2. Click the New Chat button (pencil in a square).

    Older version of Evernote for Windows

    1. Click Work Chat from the navigation menu.
    2. Click the + New Chat button at the top of your list of messages.
  • iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch

    The new Evernote for iOS
    1. Tap Work Chat from the navigation menu.
    2. Tap the New Chat button (pencil in a square).
    Older version of Evernote for iOS
    1. Tap the Account tab, then tap Work Chat.
    2. Tap the + button.
  • Android

    1. Tap Work Chat from the navigation menu.
    2. Tap the + button.
  • Web

    1. Click Work Chat from the navigation menu.
    2. Click the New Chat button (pencil in a square).

    Note: Work Chat is only available in the older version of Evernote Web. The new Evernote Web does not support Work Chat.

Invite people to chat

You can add multiple participants to a chat. Because Work Chats are private to you and participants of a chat, once you've started a chat, only the participants can view the chats. If you decide to add a new participant, a new chat is created. To invite people to a new chat, just enter their names by typing them in or by selecting from a suggested list of colleagues. 

You can also chat with people in your personal contact lists:

  • Past Evernote contacts whom you’ve chatted with or have shared notes with
  • Colleagues from your company's Evernote Business account (Evernote Business only)
  • Contacts from your computer or device address book (available on Windows, Mac, Android, and iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch)
  • Gmail contacts (available on Windows, Web, Android, and iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch)
  • Outlook contacts  (Windows only) 

Note: In order to display a list of recipients and their profile pictures from any of your contacts lists in Evernote, you'll need to grant Evernote authorization to access these lists. These contacts are not stored on Evernote servers.

Work Chat invitations and notifications

Once you've invited someone to a chat, they'll see a pop-up and Work Chat badge on their computer or device to notify them. If your recipients don't have an Evernote account, they'll receive an email or SMS message* notifying them that they’ve received a Work Chat message from you. They can then choose to sign up or log in to Evernote in order to view the shared notebook and chat with you.

You don't have to worry about whether or not a phone number or email address is tied to a chat recipient's account. If someone already has an existing Evernote account, and you send a message to a phone number or email not tied to that account, they can add those new contact details to their existing account and then view your message.

Note: SMS invitation feature is not available in all countries.

Accepting an invitation

Once a recipient accepts an invitation to a chat, they'll see notifications pop-up on their screen each time a new chat message is sent. These notifications display the sender's name, along with the first few words or lines of the message. How these notifications appear and how long they appear on the screen will vary, depending on which Evernote product you're using. 

View or continue previous chats

Select Work Chat from the navigation menu to view a list of previous Work Chats you've participated in. Find an existing chat and add a new message to it. You can delete a chat, but bear in mind that once you've deleted it, you'll no longer have access to the note, nor any references it may have to shared notes.

Note: Any Work Chats you delete are only deleted from your own account. The chat will remain visible to the other chat participants.

LANGUAGES_PRODUCT

Keywords:

  • chat
  • send a chat
  • send a message