Collaborative Editing Overview
Collaborative editing lets multiple people edit notes simultaneously, allowing everyone to contribute knowledge, share ideas, and develop a plan, in real time.
- Brainstorm with others. Gather and organize ideas via sketches, photos, attachments, audio recordings and more.
- Manage projects and teams. Delegate responsibilities using tasks, oversee logistics, track deadlines, deliverables, and milestones.
- Boost productivity in meetings. Build meeting agendas, get input from stakeholders and take meeting notes and assign action items, all in real time.
Note: Collaborative editing is only available on the newest versions of Evernote for Mac, Windows, and Web (V10.56+); and the newest versions of Evernote for iOS and Android (V10.51+). Collaborative editing is not available on older versions of the Evernote app or iOS 14 and below. For the best experience, make sure all collaborators are using the latest version of Evernote.
Collaborate in notes
To get started, create a new note or open an existing note and share it with other users in Evernote. Everyone who has edit access to the note and is using an Evernote version that supports collaborative editing will be able to edit it at the same time.
To view and edit permissions for notes you've shared, visit Edit shared note permissions.
While in a shared note, you will see avatars and cursors of those who are currently in the note at the same time as you, each with their own assigned color.
To prevent data loss, the following types of content should only be edited by one person at a time: PDFs, images, sketches, and encryption blocks. When these items are being edited, other contributors will still be able to edit the rest of the note in real time.
See who’s currently in the note
At the top of the note editor, you will see up to five avatars at a time for those who are in the note. A colored circle around each avatar matches that person’s assigned color.
Simply hover over or tap a user’s avatar to see their name. Click or tap the numbered + icon to view the full list of collaborators. An avatar that is greyed out will indicate those who have been idle in the note for more than 10 minutes.
See who’s editing the note
Click or tap an avatar to navigate to that user’s cursor in the note and see what they’re working on. A colored cursor for each user will appear in the note body, matching their assigned color.
In the note body, hover over a cursor to see the name of the user who is actively working on that portion of the note. As edits are being made in real-time, you will also see the name of the user directly above the content they are editing, and the content will be highlighted in their assigned color.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why do I see multiple avatars of the same person?
While an avatar is shown for every person in the note, an avatar will also appear for each device they are using to view or edit the note from.
I’m editing the note on two devices. Why don’t I see my avatar twice?
While other collaborators in the note might see two separate avatars for you, you will not actively see an avatar for the device you’re currently viewing the note on. If you have the note open on a second device, you will only see an avatar for that device.
Why are some users seeing a “collaborative editing is disabled” message when trying to edit a shared note?
Collaborative editing is disabled when a user is editing the note using an older version of Evernote where collaborative editing is not supported. When this occurs, users on the preview version of Evernote can still edit the note. However, everyone’s changes will only be merged once the user on the older version of Evernote leaves that note.
The best way to avoid collaborative editing becoming disabled is to encourage your team to update to the latest version of Evernote, if they have not already.
When everyone you collaborate with is using the latest version of Evernote to edit a note, it allows for a more seamless collaborative experience and ensures all edits are saved and merged in real-time.
How can I see who last edited the note?
While you are not able to see which user last edited the note, you can use note history to view older versions of the note.
Can I revert changes to the note?
Customers with a paid Evernote subscription can view and/or export an older version of the note using note history.
The restored version can then be imported back into your account. Import does not overwrite or change the current version of the note. To learn more, visit Use note history to view older versions of a note.
How many people can edit or view a shared note at once?
Up to 50 people with edit access can edit a shared note at once. Everyone editing the note must be using an Evernote version that supports collaborative editing to ensure all edits are saved and merged in real-time.
When more than 50 people are either viewing or editing a note, additional users will not be able to see everyone's latest changes in real time until others leave the note.
Can I use collaborative editing with someone who doesn’t have an Evernote account?
No. Each collaborator must have their own Evernote account.
Can I use collaborative editing in a note that was shared with me via public link?
Collaborative editing cannot be used in notes shared and accessed via public link, as they are shared with view only access by default. To use collaborative editing, the owner of the note must explicitly share the note with edit permissions to those who wish to collaborate in real-time.
- collaborative editing
- real time editing
- shared notes
- edit notes simultaneously